Skip to content

Exciting Photo Tours and Safari Developments

Sunday 10 January 2010

This week has been a great one for planning photo tours and safaris.

On Tuesday I sat down with Stephanie and Karen  from Expedia CruiseShipCenters in Waterloo to begin planning a photo cruise for 2011 – probably January-February and probably to the south Caribbean where you will find gorgeous scenery and flowers and the wonderful colours of the islands.

This evening my friend Allan Phillemon and I sat down to start working on a photo safari to his home country and my home-away-from-home: Tanzania. What a spectacular place: Kilimanjaro – the jewel of Africa, the magnificent  Serengeti Plain and Ngorongoro Crater, not to mention the wildlife that is accessible at all times. If you haven’t seen my photo of Tanzania – have a look here. Allan is also known as Kiliman (http://www.kiliman.com/) because of the excellent guided climbs of Mt Kilimanjaro. In fact, it was Allan who made all the arrangements for the IMAX crew for their ascent of Kili in making the film Kilimanjaro. Allan and I are looking at November 2010 and February 2011.

Travelling to these places is wonderful enough in itself, but a photo tour or safari designed specifically for photographers allows us to “take it up a notch”. Planning is done from the start to accommodate the needs of photographers — photogenic destinations; more time to get to know places; getting out when the lighting is ideal; plus photo tips and a workshop-like atmosphere where photographers are prepped ahead of time and questions answered in the field as they arise. A real win-win situation for all.

So start dreaming, start planning and start saving – there will be great opportunities for travel and photography in the coming year.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cathy permalink
    Tuesday 12 January 2010 7:43am

    My bags are already packed! Where do I sign up? Actually December works better for me because I teach in January – April, but there’s always Reading Week in February (3rd week in Feb, every year!).

    • Tuesday 12 January 2010 8:52am

      So which one – the photo cruise or photo safari?
      Of course, you are welcome to both!
      –Terry

      • Cathy permalink
        Wednesday 13 January 2010 12:18am

        Are you kidding??? Both, of course, if I can manage it financially! I would looooove to do the cruise in February 2011 (3rd week, to be specific); and the safari, anytime during the months that I consider are the best times to travel in Tanzania, i.e., anytime in the period between May-August inclusive, in either 2010 or 2011. And, I would rally various friends to come along with me, too, for sure.

        I can’t wait. How exciting!!

Leave a Reply

