Skip to content

Apple iPad – for photographers?

Saturday 30 January 2010

Apple iPadI’ve been away for a week up in “God’s country” – the Haliburton Highlands of Ontario – so I missed the hoopla surrounding the release of the Apple iPad. Some would call it a boring over-dramatization, even gaudy melodrama. I, for one, usually enjoy Steve Jobs delivery of new, revolutionary products. This time, he is showing his age with unnecessary repetition and  occasional silted delivery. However, this blog isn’t about Steve Jobs or the launch, it’s about the iPad itself.

The iPad truly is Apple’s

most advanced technology in a magical and revolutionary device at an unbelievable price.

During the launch, I would have thought they would use the Beatle’s Revolution, but I guess things aren’t yet patched up between Apple and Apple Records. That being said, I am greatly excited by the potential of the iPad.

Fifteeen years ago when I was teaching high school Geography, I conceived of a “notebook” somewhat akin to the iPad. Except mine had a stylus and was more productivity oriented than the iPad’s entertainment orientation. I like the iPad and it could certainly find a place in my life for these reasons (without having actually played with one). At the same time, I feel that I will pass on this first iteration, because, for me, it’s not quite there. For photographers as well, I feel it’s not quite there yet. Here we go:

  • the screen is gorgeous – the best on the market. Although I am not a fan of glossy screen for doing photo work, this one appears to be a keeper. And the 1024×768 size is decent, however
    • I want real estate. I would much prefer to cart around an extra pound of weight if it meant having a 15″ screen. When I move from my MacBook to something else, I don’t want to scrimp. You see, I’m looking at iPad as a way to shed weight and bulk and things. I want it to do what my MacBook does (well, almost) without having to carry my MacBook.
  • the interconnectivity is excellent – WiFi on all, 3GS if you want it (although no phone capability – so I still need to carry a phone although Skype might have something to say about that – very soon). Cameras can also be connected via the Camera Connection Kit (thanks, Dennis for pointing that out!). This makes the iPad a good replacement for the Epson Picture Viewer – but not an ideal due to the small hard drive of the iPad – 64GB maximum.
    • Productivity for me is the key. As I mention above, the iPad must be able to stand on its own so I don’t need my laptop with me as well. I live by my email, calendar and address book, so I’m pleased to see them implemented so well on the iPad. As well, iWork is an incredibly easy, intuitive and friendly set of apps that I use everyday. Keynote, alone is worth ditching PowerPoint which looks positively archaic next to Keynote. Pages kicks Word’s butt. Numbers is still maturing but still far more useful to me than clunky old Excel. I know Office is the industry standard on “every” computer (and, when needed I can export as Word, PowerPoint and Excel), but I don’t get rave reviews of PowerPoints like I do of Keynotes, and for me, as a photographer, it’s the presentation that counts. For me as a user, it is also the interface that counts and iWork has Office beat to death. However,
      • I need to come back to screen size. Sorry to harp on it, but, other than the lack of a USB, it’s the deal-killer for me. No doubt, Microsoft will come out with an Office version for iPad and there will be a whole slew of further offerings, but they will need to be workable on the 10″ screen. Maybe I need to get an iPad in my hands to see how well I can work on a small screen, but from first look, I’m skeptical.
    • the battery power is phenomenal. At 10 hours – even they overestimate by 20% – the iPad can work through a full day of use – nicely done, Apple!
    • the Apps have huge potential. I can easily see Adobe putting out a Photoshop for iPad. Being able to edit and manipulate photos on a touch screen would mean a Wacom Tablet at $200 is no longer needed. But again, the small screen size is getting in the way of real productivity

    The other potential deal-breakers for photographers and others – besides the lack of a USB – are:

    • the size of the hard drive. At only 64GB (the largest HD and most expensive iPad) is potentially 1/4 of what it needs to be. Heck, I have 12GB of music alone. And, I don’t want to just show photos – I want to upload the RAW images from my camera and at least start the file management process and perhaps some initial editing. Not impossible with only 64GB, but definitely limiting. You see, my laptop is my office – it has all the files I need to be productive anywhere. I don’t have time for the level of entertainment offered by the iPad – great if you are stuck on a commuter train for an hour everyday. But at only 64GB, I would be spending too much time swapping files rather than working on them. Let’s see, what files do I need today to be productive on the road…oops I forgot that file on my laptop…
    • the lack of multi-tasking. Why has Apple taken a step back from its leadership in multi-tasking. I am shocked by this, actually. I don’t want to close an app (like a photo, Keynote or Pages doc) just to search for another song or check my calendar or my emails

    The bottom line question for me is, can I get away from carrying around my laptop by using an iPad? Almost. The killers are:

    • screen size – it’s too small to be truly productive;
    • small hard drive – too small for RAW and manipulation;
    • lack of multi-tasking – who doesn’t multi-task these days!; and
    • lack of USB to upload photos.

    If I have some downtime after a shoot on the road, I want to go beyond just looking at my photos. And if I can’t be truly productive then I need to carry my laptop. If I need to carry my laptop then I don’t need an iPad. I would gladly pay $1000 for an iPad that had even a 14″ screen, 250GB hard drive and USB connectivity – something that would be more productive than entertaining. There’s my wish-list, Steve!

    7 Comments leave one →
    1. Saturday 30 January 2010 9:31am

      I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    2. Saturday 30 January 2010 12:04pm

      I was surprised that a blog post with this title didn’t mention the iPad Camera Connection Kit. http://www.apple.com/ipad/specs/ It doesn’t resolve all of your complaints but it’s a specific solution for photographers.

    3. Sunday 14 February 2010 3:28pm

      I mean – they make BlueTooth SD Cards – yes ?

      It is no big leap to conceive that some camera manufacturer will offer a transmit to iPad app.

      http://www.mobiletechreview.com/tips/palm_BT.htm

      http://www.ipodrepublic.com/ipod-touch/apple-bluetooth-ipod-touch-secret/2009/03/18/

    Trackbacks

    1. Apple Unveils the New Apply Ipad | Palscience
    2. Apple Ipad is Half Netbook Half Phone Mostly Useless George …
    3. Apple iPad – for photographers? « luxBorealis – Nature and Outdoor … | Headlines Today

    Leave a Reply

