Skip to content

Father’s Day 2010

Sunday 20 June 2010
tags: ,

As I lay here on my lounge enjoying a lovely Father’s Day, I couldn’t not think of photography – so here’s the view from where I’m lying.

It’s important to be constantly on the look-out for images – at least that’s the way my brain works. Even when I don’t have a camera handy I am assessing scenes and views for their photographic potential – Where would I stand/crouch/lie for this image? What lens would I use. What compensation would I need given the lighting situation? Does this feel like a black-and-white image? What leading lines do I have to work with?

It’s the seeing of photographs in the oddest of places with questions like these that become the mental exercise of creating photos that leads to more critical thinking that soon becomes second nature – and that’s where you want to be.

My View on Father's Day

Leave a Reply

